Wholebook Contest Results 2019

Judges critiqued 24 Iowa high school yearbooks for the 2019 Jostens-IHSPA Wholebook Contest and Evaluation. Judges based the awards on specific criteria, which evaluated each publication’s demonstration of journalistic, photographic, and design principles.

The Neubert award, named in honor of the late Grinnell High School yearbook advisor Mick Neubert, recognizes exceptional yearbooks in the Wholebook Contest, and it is IHSPA’s highest rating.

This year, three schools received the Neubert Award: Benton Community, PCM, and Johnston High School


The remainder of this year’s awards are as follows:

Benton CommunityBentonianNeubert Award
PCMPCM High Neubert Award
JohnstonThe DragonNeubert Award
Davenport WestShaheenAward of Distinguished Merit

AtlanticJavelinAward of Distinguished Merit

Dowling CatholicThe InsightsAward of Distinguished Merit

Iowa City West2019 Trojan EpicAward of Distinguished Merit

Davenport CentralThe BlackhawkAward of Distinguished Merit

West DelawareHawkAward of Distinguished Merit

Liberty HighThe BoltAward of Achievement

Des Moines EastEast QuillAward of Achievement

Lewis CentralThe YearbookAward of Achievement

Des Moines NorthPolar Bear YearbookAward of Achievement

GrinnellThe GrinnellianAward of Achievement

West BranchThe GrowlerAward of Achievement

Mount VernonThe CentaurAward of Achievement

AbrahamLincolnAward of Honor

Award of Honor

Clear Creek AmanaThe ClipperAward of Honor

HooverThe HuskyAward of Honor

BettendorfBeaconAward of Honor

St. AlbertDimensions 2019Award of Honor

KennedyFading MemoriesAward of Merit

Iowa MennoniteThe Reverie No award