2021 Nominations

Stratton Award

The Iowa High School Press Association presents its coveted STRATTON AWARD annually at the Fall Conferences to an individual or organization for their support of scholastic journalism. The award was named in honor of the late Kenneth Stratton, longtime publications adviser at East High School, Des Moines, Iowa. Stratton also authored Press Time, a well-known journalism textbook for high school journalists. He served two terms as IHSPA president during two different periods of his teaching career. Award criteria

Administrator of the Year Award

ADMINISTRATOR OF THE YEAR is given to outstanding school administrators to acknowledge their support of journalism education within their schools or districts. The award is presented annually at the fall conferences. Award criteria

Rod Vahl (teacher) Award

IHSPA annually presents the ROD VAHL AWARD to acknowledge excellence in teaching and advising. At the option of the judges, one winner and two honorable mentions may be recognized during the Fall Conferences. The award is named in honor of Rod Vahl, national high school teacher of the year and long-time IHSPA officer and newspaper adviser from Davenport. Award criteria

Entry Forms

Award nomination

  • Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 15 MB.

Student honors

Iowa JEA Journalist of the Year

Dues February 15, 2022



Activate Search