Finalists for IHSPA Emerging Journalist honors 2022


Each spring IHSPA advisers nominate future journalism stars for our Emerging Journalist award. Here are the finalists.

From this lists judges will select our top ten. The top receive a pin and and $100 toward attending the iowa Summer Journalism Workshops. The Top Ten will be announced mid-April.



ZairaAhmad10th gradeIowa City West
WillCheng11th gradeIowa City West
CeciDe Young10th gradeIowa City West
EllaDe Young11th gradeIowa City West
CharlotteDeAngelis11th gradeDowling Catholic High School
AlloreeElse10th gradePella High School
AuttumGreene11th gradePella Community High
Ny'AsiahGully11th gradeDes Moines East High School
WesalHaroun10th gradeIowa City West
KennedyHartson11th gradePella High School
ShobiniIyer11th gradePleasant Valley High School
MaryMacumber11th gradeClear Creek Amana High School
KushiMaridu11th gradePleasant Valley High School
FlynnMilligan11th gradeDowling Catholic High School
AndreaN'Goran11th gradeHoover High School
AkshethaaNaveen-Kumar10th gradeIowa City West
DallasOlberding11th gradeMount Vernon High School
AnisaRachman10th gradeClear Creek Amana High School
JaquelynRosas11th gradeHoover High School
MayleiRuggles11th gradePella Community High School
JesseSchuerer10th gradeClear Creek Amana High School
ZoeSmith10th gradeIowa City West
PaytonStrobel11th gradeWaukee Northwest High School
IsabellaTisdale10th gradeIowa City West
CirilaTorres-Rubio11th gradeHoover High School
MilaVan Weelden10th gradeMarion High School
FaithVandenberg10th gradePella Community High School