Entering journalism contests: Why and How

February 4, 2014

By Gary Lindsay Early in my tenure as adviser at Kennedy High, the reasons why I put off entering students into journalism contests seemed so compelling – the contests came at the worst time of the year when I was swamped, th...

2013 Sweepstake winners

December 5, 2013

Here are the sweepstakes winners in the fall yearbook contest. Also check out the individual category winners story. Sweepstakes points are awarded based on individual awards. Click 0n the school to see the winning yearbook. ...

2013 Fall Yearbook Contest Results

December 5, 2013

Here are the individual category winners for the 2013 Fall Yearbook contest. Also check the sweepstakes winners. table.tableizer-table { border: 1px solid #CCC; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif font-size: 12px; } .tableizer-...

2013 Online Web Results

November 20, 2013

Click here to view Spring Contest Results First Second Third HM Overall Website School Iowa City High Johnston High Davenport Central Student(s) Nat Alder and Max Friedman Laura Scieszinski, ...

2013 Spring Newspaper Sweeps results

October 31, 2013

Click here to view Spring Contest Results Class Contest First Second Third Honorable Mention Class A Writing West Branch Mount Vernon West Delaware Hudson Class A Photography West Delaware Hudson West Branch...

Spring Contest Results 2013

June 21, 2013

The judges have ruled and here are the results of the 2013 Spring contests for newspaper, news magazine, broadcast, online and photographer of the year. 246 prizes were awarded. The contests were judged by professionals from Iow...

IHSPA Scholars

February 26, 2013

IHSPA Scholar is an academic honor for the state's top journalism students. It rewards them with a certificate, a pin to wear at graduation, and a special announcement sent to their high school administration and local media. Requirements: • Minimu...

Jostens 2013 Whole Book results

February 22, 2013

School City Award Abraham Lincoln HS Council Bluffs IA Neubert Atlantic HS Atlantic IA Award of Distinguished Merit Audubon HS Audubon  IA Award of Achievement Benton HS Van Horne  IA Award ...

The official site of the Iowa High School Press Association
News Items