Annual meeting minutes

June 27, 2011

IHSPA held its 2011 Annual Meeting on June 10. The minutes from that meeting are attached. Read More »...

2010-11 Editorial Cartooning winners

May 24, 2011

Congratulations to all who entered this year's editorial cartooning contest. The winners were: Class A - Eric Moore, Pella HS; Class B - Bridget Novak, Iowa City West HS. Read More »...

2011 Spring Newspaper results

May 12, 2011

Full results from IHSPA's 2011 Spring Contest results. Read More »...

Johnston’s McGowan named JEA Iowa High School Journalist of the Year

April 14, 2011

Congratulations to Johnston senior Kelly McGowan, the 2010-11 JEA Iowa High School Journalist of the Year. Read More »...

JEA Journalist of the Year deadline extended

February 14, 2011

The JEA Iowa Journalist of the Year deadline has been extended to this Friday, Feb. 18. You can find the form here.

Whole Book results – 4 schools earn Neubert status

February 9, 2011

Yearbooks from four Iowa high schools earned the prestigious Neubert Award, the highest award given from the Jostens Whole Book Yearbook competition. This year's Neubert winners are: Iowa City West HS Johnston HS Pella HS Southeast Polk HS...

Four Iowa schools featured in “Best of …”

February 8, 2011

Works from four Iowa high schools are featured in the Best of the High School Press Vol. 16, just released by the National Scholastic Press Association. Congratulations on some beautiful work to Hudson High School, City High Schoo...

2010 Fall Yearbook results

November 3, 2010

2010 IHSPA Fall Yearbook Contest results SWEEPS CLASS A 1st - Exira HS 2nd - Hudson HS 3rd - Mt. Vernon HS HM - North Mahaska HS CLASS B 1st - Benton Community HS 2nd - Fort Madison HS 3rd - Pella HS HM - Central DeWitt HM - Clear Creek Amana CLASS C 1st - Iowa City West HS 2nd - Johnston HS 3rd - S...

2010 On-the-Spot Contest results

October 20, 2010

Congratulations to all the winners and participants from the IHSPA State Conference on Oct. 13. A full list is below. As always, please notify us ASAP of any name misspelling or misidentifications. News-writing 1st: Alissa Rothman, Iowa City West 2nd:...

Visser earns Towley Award

September 30, 2010

The Carl Towley Award, the most prestigious award bestowed by the Journalism Education Association, will be awarded to Pella High School publications adviser Ann Visser. The decision was announced Wednesday on JEA's website.V...

Kennedy newest Iowa journalism mentor

August 20, 2010

Jack Kennedy is Iowa's newest scholastic journalism mentor. Kennedy, an Iowa City native, is president of the Journalism Education Association, director of the Colorado High School Press Association and an adjunct instructor at Metropolitan State College of Denver, as well as a longtime high sch...

The official site of the Iowa High School Press Association
News Items