Spring 2023 Contest Winners


Emerging Journalist Contest

These top ten Emerging Journalists were selected based on the overall quality of their work, the impact on their school and community, the students’ understanding of the fundamentals of journalism, and the level of experimentation. Each winner is offered a $100 scholarship toward the cost of attending the  University of Iowa Summer Journalism Workshops for High School students or the Drake Media Now summer journalism camp.

Ayah Alsheikha, Pleasant Valley High School

Tai Caputo, Iowa City, City High School

John Kirkpatrick, Johnston High School

Wisdom Konu, Iowa City, City High School

Esther Puderbaugh, Iowa City, City High School

Jack Rogers, Iowa City, City High School

Marie Stier, Iowa City West High School

Ava Tomlinson, Ankeny High School

Erinn Varga, Iowa City West High School

Vivian Wu, Ankeny High School


IHSPA Scholar 2023

These IHSPA Scholars were nominated by their high school media advisors. It is an academic honor for the state’s top journalism students and rewards them with a certificate, a pin to wear at graduation, and a special announcement sent to their high school administration. Learn more about the IHSPA Scholar requirements

Ruth Benjamin, Hoover High School

Molly Campbell, Waukee Northwest High School

Thomas Campbell, Waukee Northwest High School

Shobini Iyer, Pleasant Valley High School

Makenna Leiby, Pleasant Valley High School

Brenda Moreno, East High School

Andrea NGoran, Hoover High School

Milana Prelle, Iowa City West High School

Tanner Reel, Hoover High School

Catherine Reiher, Johnston High School

Olivia Rogers, Pleasant Valley High School

Jaquelyn Rosas, Hoover High School

Tessa Rounds, East High School

Payton Strobel, Waukee Northwest High School

Rachel Swack, West High School

Lilah Takes, Wahlert Catholic High School

Bodhi Terrell, Waukee Northwest High School

Sumika Thapa, Pleasant Valley High School

Cirila Torres-Rubio, Hoover High School

Isabel Ungs, Wahlert Catholic High School

Jenna Westendorf, Johnston High School

Spring Journalism Contest 2023

Spring Journalism Contest seeks to recognize the best work of Iowa high school publications – both online and in print. Winning entries receive a certificate. Read about the rules, categories, etc. for the Spring Journalism Contest.

Download the complete listing of more than 420 winners out of 1300 entries in Spring 2023. 


Top 15 IHSPA All-Iowa News Teams Finalists for 2023

Class A

Atlantic HS

Durant HS

Mount Vernon HS

West Branch HS

West Delaware HS


Class B

Hoover HS

North HS (Des Moines)

Pella Community HS

Pleasant Valley

Waukee Northwest


Class C

Ankeny High School

Iowa City City HS

Iowa City West HS

Kennedy HS

Waterloo West High School