2015 IHSPA Scholars named

Back to Article
Back to Article

2015 IHSPA Scholars named

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

IHSPA Scholar is an academic honor for the state’s top journalism students. Seven students are honored this year.

School City
Maddy Crist Kennedy High School Cedar Rapids
Allison Ellis Des Moines East High School Des Moines
Cheyenne Lindsey Des Moines East High School Des Moines
Samantha Linebach North High School Des Moines
Lydia Martin Kennedy High School Cedar Rapids
Jailene Rodriguez Des Moines East High School Des Moines
Jaycie Weathers West High Iowa City


  • Minimum 3 semesters of journalism in high school. The final semester of senior year can count toward that three semesters.
  • Minimum 3.0 cumulative high school GPA at time of application.
  • 5 hours of community service, approved by the adviser, in the spirit of journalists serving the communities in which they live. It is the adviser’s decision what counts as community service.
  • • A 500-word essay by the student explaining lessons they’ve learned as a high school journalist, to be submitted to IHSPA.
  • The school attended by the nominee must be in good IHSPA membership standing. Students do not need to have declared a college journalism major to qualify.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email