Designers, photographers, videographers and writers of the Year selected


The results are in!

Judges reviewed portfolios to select the Designer of the Year, Photographer of the Year, Videographer of the Year and Writer of the Year during the Spring 2016 Journalism Contests.

First through third places and various honorable mentions were awarded.


Writer of the Year

1st PlaceSarah StortzCedar Falls HSLink
2nd PlaceOlivia ParrottIowa City City HSLink
3rd PlaceCarly CampbellJohnston HSLink
Honorable MentionZuhayr AlamCedar Falls HSLink

Designer of the Year

1st PlaceSimran SarinIowa City West HSLink
2nd PlaceEileen LagerbladeJohnston HSLink
3rd PlaceHelen MoritzJohnston HSLink

Hawkeye Photographer of the Year

1st PlaceJohn DunlopCedar Falls HSLink
2nd PlaceAshley LongJohnston HSLink
3rd PlaceKate LichterJohnston HSLink
Honorable MentionLogan ColeCedar Falls HSLink

Videographer of the Year

1st PlaceInnes HicsasmazIowa City City HSLink
2nd PlaceJulie JorgensenCedar Falls HSLink
3rd PlaceJaden AmjadiCedar Falls HSLink
Honorable MentionEmma WeimerskirchCedar Falls HSLink