2016 News Teams of the Year Revealed

How do we choose our winners?

Points are awarded to schools for placing in 29 categories of the Spring Journalism Contest.

The points are then tallied to identify the winners of the News Team of the Year competition.

Here are the results:


Class A

1stMount Vernon HSMount Vernon107
3rdAtlantic HSAtlantic51

Class B

1stCedar Falls HSCedar Falls230
2ndNorth HS (Des Moines)Des Moines62
3rdMarion HSMarion48

Class C

1stIowa City City HSIowa City136
2ndIowa City West HSIowa City126
3rdJohnston HSJohnston76