Spring Journalism contest winners announced


IHSPA’s Spring Journalism Conest 2016 drew 1143 entries in 29 categories and three class sizes.

News Team of the Year

Mount Vernon HS won first place in class A, followed by Hudson HS in second and Atlantic in third place.

Cedar Falls HS took first place in class B, followed by Des Moines North HS in second and Marion HS in third place.

Iowa City High won first place in class C, West High (Iowa City) took second place and Johnston took third.

Points are awarded to schools for placing in the many categories of the Spring Journalism Contest. The points are tallied to identify the winners of the News Team of the Year competition. 22 schools competed in the three classes.

News Team of the Year – Point totals

Individual categories

Class A Results

Class B Results

Class C Results

Designer of the Year
Hawkeye Photographer of the Year
Videographer of the Year
Writer of the Year

The contest was judged by staff members of many news organizations across Iowa including: Anamosa Journal-Eureka, Corridor Business Journal, Daily Iowegian, Dubuque Telegraph-Herald, Gannett Design Studio, Gazette, Iowa Freedom of Information Council, IowaWatch.org, Quad City Times and Register Media and Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier.