Iowa Journalist of the Year

Deadline Feb. 15, 2017

Back to Article
Back to Article

Iowa Journalist of the Year

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Deadline for submitting to the Iowa journalist of the year competition is February 15, 2017.

The winner receives a $500 Scholarship sponsored by Iowa High School Press Association and Iowa Newspaper Foundation.

Winning Iowa journalist of the Year allows the student compete for $3,000 for the national journalist of the year and six $850 runner-up scholarships


Iowa HS Journalist of the Year Contest

The Journalist of the Year contest recognizes Iowa’s top high school journalism students.


To be eligible students:

  • Must be seniors.
    Must have served on a media staff for two years.
    Can be planning to study any major in college.
    Have an adviser who is a current Journalism Education Association member.


The components of the Iowa JOY process align with those of the national JEA – JOY process.

The JEA website provides a plethora of information in the following areas.


Contest requirements and guidelines
A candidate toolbox that explains options for hosting the online portfolio
Organizing work samples
A judging rubric
Past winners
Examples of winning JOY entries


All entries must be digital. Entries are submitting as a URL. Places to consider when deciding where to host work examples include the following:
For Print: – Adobe Acrobrat PDF portfolio – WordPress – – Blogger
For Broadcast: Google Sites – –

The JEA website has a tutorial “Options for Online Presentation” that explains these options.


Students may not have examples that fit all 11 categories. That is fine. The categories are an attempt to include the vast types of experiences students may encounter working on a media staff.

The portfolio could be used in other ways:  for scholarships, for job interviews, when applying for leadership positions in organizations. Compiling a portfolio of work and reflecting on it is something most teenagers have not done. It sets you apart.


February 15, 2017

IHSPA will be posting a place for the application and portfolio to be submitted.  In early March the state winner will be announced.

March 15, 2017

Winning entry must be submitted to the JEA national office.

Early April

National winners will be announced.

April 2017

National winners will be introduced at the National Journalism convention.

Sister Rita Jeanne Scholarships, named for JEA’s longtime treasurer, recognize some of the top high school journalists in the country.  Scholarship funds — $3,000 for the top winner, and $850 each for runners-up (up to six runners-up awards are usually given) — are released to the student after the winners are announced.



  • 2016 Molly Hunter, Washington High School, Cedar Rapids
  • 2015 Anne Rogers, Johnston High School, Johnston
  • 2014 Laura Scieszinski, Johnston High School, Johnston
  • 2013 no entries
  • 2012, Lisa Friesth, Johnston High School, Johnston
  • 2011, Kelly McGowan, Johnston High School, Johnston
  • 2010, Kallen Kramer, Johnston High School, Johnston
  • 2009 James Kuberski, Davis County High School, Bloomfield
  • 2008 Ariana McLaughlin, Kennedy High School, Cedar Rapids
  • 2007 Briana Byrd, Central High School, Davenport

Leslie Shipp
Johnston High School
Johnston, Iowa
[email protected]

Fill out my online form.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email