IHSPA names 16 scholars

@017 Scholars honored


IHSPA Scholar is an academic honor for the state’s top journalism students. It rewards them with a certificate, a pin to wear at graduation, and a special announcement sent to their high school administration and local media.

Sixteen IHSPA Scholars are honored this year.

First nameLast nameSchoolCity
AnthonyArroyoDes Moines East High SchoolDes Moines
ElizabethBarrettKennedy High SchoolCedar Rapids
ChloeCopleyDes Moines East High SchoolDes Moines
JakeCorkeryKennedy High SchoolCedar Rapids
LaurieCustardDes Moines East High SchoolDes Moines
MarieDemuthDes Moines East High SchoolDes Moines
MadelineJamrokKennedy High SchoolCedar Rapids
ChloeMallonMarion High SchoolMarion
BrookeMcNealKennedy High SchoolCedar Rapids
MichaelMoonjelyIowa City West High SchoolIowa City
CheyannNeadesDes Moines North High SchoolDes Moines
KaitlynRedmanWaukee High SchoolWaukee
NathanSheeleyKennedy High SchoolCedar Rapids
TaylorShelfoIowa City West High SchoolIowa City
LibbieSkeffingtonDes Moines East High SchoolDes Moines
TaylorWeissKennedy High SchoolCedar Rapids


  • Minimum 3 semesters of journalism in high school. The final semester of senior year can count toward that three semesters.
  • Minimum 3.0 cumulative high school GPA at time of application.
  • 5 hours of community service, approved by the adviser, in the spirit of journalists serving the communities in which they live. It is the adviser’s decision what counts as community service.
  • • A 500-word essay by the student explaining lessons they’ve learned as a high school journalist, to be submitted to IHSPA.
  • The school attended by the nominee must be in good IHSPA membership standing. Students do not need to have declared a college journalism major to qualify.