Emerging Journalist Finalists for 2020 revealed


IHSPA seeks to identify and acknowledge emerging talent in newspaper, yearbook, and digital media students in member high schools. The opportunity is open to students in 9th, 10th, or 11th grade. These students will be the backbone of their respective schools’ publications for the upcoming year.

Each adviser may nominate three students per publication: If an adviser supports two publications, then six students may be nominated total, as long as there are only three nominations for each publication (three for newspaper, and three for yearbook).

Ten Emerging Journalists will be selected based on the overall quality of their work, the impact on their school and community, the students’ understanding of the fundamentals of journalism, and the level of experimentation.

Below are the 41 Emerging Journalist Finalists for 2020.!

All finalists listed below receive a certificate from IHSPA, recognizing this achievemen

OwenAanestadIowa City West
JulianneBerry-StoelzleIowa City High
MadisonBotosAtlantic High
AlyceBrownPleasant Valley High
AlexCarlonIowa City West
JordynCimmiyottiJohnston High
SavannahDennisJohnston High
AndrewEnglerAtlantic High
BessFrerichsIowa City West
BrendaGaoIowa City West
KaileyGeeIowa City West
EleanorGrevingAtlantic High
AmberHaglerHoover High
JesseHausknecht-BrownIowa City High
RyleighHayworthDes Moines East
ShoshannaHemleyIowa City High
MariaHernandezDes Moines East
MackenzieHoffmanAtlantic High
IngridHofmannPleasant Valley High
PaigeJansenAdel-Desoto-Minburn High
DestinyJondleHoover High
JulianneJulianne Berry-StoelzleIowa City High
HanahKitamotoIowa City West
TateLarsenJohnston High
MartaLeiraIowa City West
EllaLitchfieldPleasant Valley High
HankLucasJohnston High
ShaylaLukeAtlantic High
JamiMartin-TrainorKennedy High
EmilyMartinezIowa City High
EmilyMartinezIowa City High
JesusMartinezDes Moines East
RylieMeyerHoover High
ShelbyMoquinClear Creek Amana High
MelissaPardockHoover High
ArabiaParkeyHoover High
CarolinePellettAtlantic High
ShayPolsonJohnston High
JoelSeguraHoover High
AlyssaSkalaIowa City West
Da'JaiWessonAtlantic High