Journalist of the Year Award 2021

Journalist of the Year Award 2021

Each year IHSPA recognizes one of the state’s top high school journalism students as the Journalist of the Year. This year we congratulate Alyce Brown!

Alyce Brown of Pleasant Valley High School wins Iowa Journalist of rite year. She will receive $500 and a trophy. This makes her eligible to compete in the JEA Journalist of the Year contest representing Iowa.

Second place: Shoshanna Hemley,  Iowa City High
Third place: Alyssa Skala, Iowa City West.

Note from judge:

“Alyce Brown displays a maturity that produces a solid commitment to engaging news consumers with information they want, need and can trust. She has demonstrated an ability to lead her team by example and strong guidance. Organizational skills like she showed have been important in a year during which COVID-19 disrupted the norm and forced high school journalists to adapt to new ways of connecting with readers and staff. Job well done.”