Emerging Journalist Top Ten 2022


Each year the IHSPA seeks to identify the future of scholastic journalism in Iowa. High school advisers nominate promising students for next year, and these students are designated Emerging Journalist finalists. Judges review work samples and letters to identify the Top Ten.

Here are the IHSPA Top Ten Emerging Journalists for 2022. These students receive a certificate, a specialty pin, and a $100 scholarship toward attending the 2022 Summer Journalism Workshops for high school students at the University of Iowa.

Emerging Journalist Pin; silver
Pin awarded to top 10 Emerging Journalists
Name (First)Name (Last)Address (City)School
AnisaRachmanNorth LibertyClear Creek Amana High School
Ny'AsiahGullyDes MoinesDes Moines East High School
FlynnMilliganDes MoinesDowling Catholic High School
JaquelynRosasDes MoinesHoover High School
ZairaAhmadCoralvilleIowa City West
WillChengIowa CityIowa City West
WesalHarounIowa CityIowa City West
ZoeSmithIowa CityIowa City West
DallasOlberdingMount VernonMount Vernon High School
FaithVandenbergLeightonPella Community High School