Top Ten Emerging Journalists 2017


IHSPA identifies the up and coming young high school journalists thru the Emerging Journalist program. Member high school media advisers in Iowa nominate freshman, sophomores and juniors who show promise in the many disciplines related to high school media. Recently IHSPA identified the 38 finalists for this award.

Judges reviewed the works of the 38 finalists and recommendations from their advisors to select IHSPA’s Top Ten Emerging Journalists for 2017. In addition to the certificate they will receive the Top Ten are offered a $100 scholarship toward participating in the Iowa Summer Journalism Workshops.

JennaAndersonKennedy HSCedar Rapids
MayaDurhamCity HighIowa City
NicholasIrwinJohnston HSAnkeny
LaurenKatzWest HSIowa City
AbbyLashbrookHudson HSHudson
JackLucasJohnston HSJohnston
ToniMcPheeEast HSDes Moines
SarahSchorleAtlantic HS
MinaTakahashiCity HighIowa City
SamalyaThenuwaraWest HSIowa City